Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 25th, 2011

I need this dress!!

This dress by Etsy seller shebycindy is absolutely gorgeous. I want this sooo badly for my wedding rehearsal dress. Unfortunately, the price is somewhat steep :-\ … but I LOVE THIS. I might have to save up my pennies for this one.

 

 

 

Read Full Post »

If you haven’t seen this commercial, take a look now.

Ok, first of all, if these girls are hanging out, why do they each need their own personal music player? Put the song through speakers and be a little social. Jeeze. Secondly, TURN THE MUSIC DOWN! If their music is so loud that they are yelling over each other, they are listening at dangerous listening levels. My phonophobia makes me cringe, and the audiologist in me wants to give them a harsh talking to. These children are begging for a noise induced hearing loss. Listening to music over 85 dB for more than 5 minutes can cause hearing loss.

While I don’t know what headphones they are using, a seach for “behind the neck headphones” showed the following headphones and their maximum output levels:

Philips SBC-HS380: Maximum output = 102 dB

Philips SHJ070: Maxiumum output = 106 dB

Sony MDR G55LP/WG: Maximum output = 105 dB

EarHugger EH910vc: Maximum output = 115 dB!

The average output is 107 dB. Well over the safe limit. And while it is speculation, these girls are definitely listening to their music players at full volume. This is no scientific study of the commercial at all, but the commercial speaks enough for itself really. If you can’t hear someone speaking (shouting, really) less than a foot away from you, turn down your music player.

Read Full Post »